Lee, Stewart Earn Awards

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Freshman Spencer Lee (wrestling) and junior Hannah Stewart (women’s basketball) have been selected as Iowa’s 2018 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners. The duo was chosen from Iowa’s list of 2017-18 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winners, which had a representative from each varsity sport.

Lee won the 2018 NCAA championship as a true freshman at 125 pounds. The Murrysville, Pennsylvania, native joined the Iowa lineup in January and compiled a 22-2 overall record, earning All-America, Big Ten Freshman of the Year, and Amateur Wrestling News All-Rookie honors.

Stewart played in all 32 games this season, scoring in double figures seven times and netting eight or more points in 17 contests. The Minot, North Dakota, native had her best season as a Hawkeye, registering single-season bests in points (235), rebounds (145), assists (46), blocks (24), steals (35), field goals made (106), and free throws made (23).

The Big Ten first awarded the Outstanding Sportsmanship honor in 2003. The student-athletes chosen were individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior, were in good academic standing and demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Following is a list of Iowa’s past Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners:

Year Men’s Award Winner Women’s Award Winner

2003 Stuart Waters, Men’s Tennis Kristin Johnson, Softball

2004 Nate Kaeding, Football Laura Chipman, Softball

2005 Joe Johnston, Wrestling Jennifer Skolaski, Swimming & Diving

2006 Adam Haluska, Men’s Basketball Liz Grajewski, Women’s Gymnastics

2007 Adam Haluska, Men’s Basketball Kara Zappone, Field Hockey

2008 Bart van Monsjou, Men’s Tennis Brittany Keyes, Rowing

2009 Christian Bierich, Men’s Tennis Wendy Ausdemore, Women’s Basketball

2010 A.J. Edds, Football Laura Cilek, Women’s Golf

2011 Chris Brant, Men’s Golf Kelsey Cermak, Women’s Basketball

2012 Matt Gatens, Men’s Basketball Betsy Flood, Women’s Track & Field

2013 Eric May, Men’s Basketball Mareike Schrulle, Women’s Cross Country

2014 James Morris, Football Theairra Taylor, Women’s Basketball

2015 Mark Weisman, Football Melissa Dixon, Women's Basketball

2016 Drew Ott, Football Amy Ihm, Women's Golf

2017 Nicholas Baer, Men's Basketball Sophie Plasteras, Field Hockey

2018 Spencer Lee, Wrestling Hannah Stewart, Women’s Basketball

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content