B1G Women’s Golf All-Conference Teams

Michigan State’s Sarah Burnham named Big Ten Player of the Year

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference office announced the women’s golf All-Conference teams and individual award winners on Tuesday following the 2018 Big Ten Women’s Golf Championships. Michigan State’s Sarah Burnham was named the Big Ten Player of the Year, Purdue’s Inez Wanamarta earned Freshman of the Year honors and Michigan State head coach Stacy Slobodnik-Stoll was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Burnham completed the regular season and Big Ten Championships ranked No. 17 nationally by Golfstat. She posted a season stroke average of 70.68, and finished second at the Big Ten Championships, shooting a three-round score of 5-under par 211. Burnham helped the Spartans secure their second straight Big Ten Championships title and earned the Mary Fossum Award, honoring the conference's player with the lowest stroke average (-1.21) relative to par this season. Burnham is the fourth Michigan State student to earn Big Ten Player of the Year honors and the first Spartan to claim the award in back-to-back years.

Wanamarta finished the season ranked eighth in the Big Ten and No. 78 nationally by Golfstat. The newcomer appeared in 11 tournaments this season and posted a stroke average of 72.93. She tallied a 12th-place finish at last weekend’s Big Ten Championships, shooting a one-under par 215 over the three rounds. Wanamarta becomes the seventh Boilermaker to earn Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors and the first since Laura Gonzalez-Escallon in the 2010 season.

Slobodnik-Stoll guided Michigan State to its eighth Big Ten Championship after the Spartans carded a three-round team total of 869 (283-286-290) in the Big Ten Championships at TPC River’s Bend. Slobodnik-Stoll claims Coach of the Year honors for the fifth time, also earning the nod in 2001, 2007, 2012 and 2017.

The All-Big Ten first team features Ohio State’s Jaclyn Lee, the 2018 individual Big Ten Champion, along with Illinois’ Grace Park and Bing Singhsumalee, Michigan State’s Burnham, Allyson Geer and Paz Marfa,

Northwestern’s Hannah Kim and Janet Mao, and Purdue’s Wanamarta. Burnham earned first-team All-Big Ten honors for the third consecutive season, while Kim becomes the 12th Big Ten golfer to garner first-team accolades for four straight seasons.

The Big Ten also recognized 14 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the students must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.


Big Ten Player of the Year: Sarah Burnham, Michigan State

Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Inez Wanamarta, Purdue

Big Ten Coach of the Year: Stacy Slobodnik-Stoll, Michigan State


Grace Park, Illinois

Bing Singhsumalee, Illinois

Sarah Burnham, Michigan State

Allyson Geer, Michigan State

Paz Marfa, Michigan State

Hannah Kim, Northwestern

Janet Mao, Northwestern

Jaclyn Lee, Ohio State

Inez Wanamarta, Purdue



Tristyn Nowlin, Illinois

Chay Prapassarangkul, Illinois

Xiaolin Tian, Maryland

Sarah Cho, Northwestern

Stephanie Lau, Northwestern

Micaela Farah, Purdue

Gabby Curtis, Wisconsin

*Additional honorees due to ties


Tristyn Nowlin, Illinois

Alix Kong, Indiana

Shawn Rennegarbe, Iowa

Laura Van Respaille, Maryland

Emily White, Michigan

Katie Sharp, Michigan State

Sabrine Garrison, Minnesota

Hannah Thiele, Nebraska

Sarah Cho, Northwestern

Niki Schroeder, Ohio State

Maddy Herr, Penn State

Marta Martin, Purdue

Ana Cortes, Rutgers

Becky Klongland, Wisconsin


Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content