Track & Field Notebook: Jimmy Grant Invitational

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa track and field team opens the 2018-19 indoor track and field season Saturday, hosting the Jimmy Grant Invitational. The teams competing include Drake, Illinois State, Iowa State, and Northern Iowa. The meet begins at 9 a.m. (CT) with the weight throw at the Hawkeye Tennis and Recreation Complex. Jumps begin at 2:30 p.m. at the UI Rec Building and the running events start at 4:30 p.m. with the 60-meter hurdle preliminaries. Admission is free. 

FOLLOW ALONG Fans can follow the meet on the live results page on Results will also be posted on the team's official twitter account @iowaxc_tf and live video of the meet is available on 

EARLY BIRD SPECIAL For the first time since the men's and women's teams combined in 2009, the Hawkeyes will compete in a December meet. The Jimmy Grant Invitational is named after the late head coach. Coach Grant served as assistant coach from 1986-96 and women's head coach from 1996-2006. He led the Hawkeyes to 12 individual Big Ten titles and coached 10 All-Americans. 

MEET THE RECORD HOLDERS Six Hawkeyes on the roster account for four indoor school records. They include: Nathan Mylenek, Collin Hofacker, Carter Lilly, and Michael Melchert: distance medley relay (9:33.90) Reno Tuufuli: shot put (19.28m) Laulaunga Tausaga: shot put (13.22m) and weight throw (16.51m) 

2018 INDOOR ALL-AMERICANS The Hawkeyes finished the 2018 indoor season with 14 All-America honors, the most in program history. Returning this season is first team All-American Briana Guillory (400 meters), and second team All-Americans Mar'yea Harris (400 meters, 1,600-meter relay), Chris Douglas (60-meter hurdles), Collin Hofacker (1,600-meter relay), and DeJuan Frye (1,600-meter relay). Guillory also earned second team honors in the 1,600-meter relay. 2018 All-Americans First Team -- Jahisha Thomas (LJ, TJ), Briana Guillory (400 meters) Second Team -- Mar'yea Harris (400 meters, 1,600-meter relay), Chris Douglas (60-meter hurdles), Collin Hofacker (1,600-meter relay), DeJuan Frye (1,600-meter relay), Bradford Garron (1,600-meter relay), Sheridan Champe (1,600-meter relay), Brittany Brown (200 meters, 1,600-meter relay), Sarah Plock(1,600-meter relay), Briana Guillory (1,600-meter relay) 

GUILLORY EARNS GOLD FOR TEAM USA Senior Briana Guillory competed in the 1,600-meter relay team for Team USA at the 2018 North America, Central America, and Caribbean Championships in Toronto, Canada, earning gold. Guillory ran the first leg of the race, while Jasmine Blocker of Tulane University, Kiana Horton of Baylor University and Courtney Okolo of the University of Texas finished the race in 3:26.08. 

ALL WE DO IS WIN At the 2018 Indoor Big Ten Championships, Nathan Mylenek, Chris Thompson, Carter Lilly, and Michael Melchert impressed with a come-from-behind win as Melchert closed the race passing five teams in the home stretch to earn the Hawkeyes first ever conference title in the event. Senior Briana Guillory earned her first Big Ten title at the 2018 indoor conference championships in the 400 meters (52.08). 

RETURNING BIG TEN LEADERS The Hawkeyes return 13 athletes who ranked in the Big Ten top five in 2018. Briana Guillory and Mar'yea Harris placed in the top five in multiple events.

RETURNING NCAA LEADERS Iowa returns four athletes that finished the 2018 indoor season inside the country's top 10. Briana Guillory finished 2018 fifth in the country in the 400 meters (52.08) and Collin Hofacker, DeJuan Frye, and Mar'yea Harris were 10th in the 1,600-meter relay (3:05.33). Iowa returns three NCAA top 10 athletes from the outdoor season. Laulauga Tausaga ranked seventh in discus (59.86m), Mar'yea Harris ranked eighth in the 400 meters (44.98), and Reno Tuufuli ranked ninth in discus (60.87m) 

COUNTING CURRENT ALL-TIME HAWKEYES  The men have 17 current athletes in Iowa's indoor all-time top 10 (46 times) led by school-record holders Mar'yea Harris, (400-meters, 1,600-meter relay), Carter Lilly (800-meters, Distance medley relay), Reno Tuufuli (shot put) DeJuan Frye (1,600-meter relay), Collin Hofacker (1,600-meter relay, distance medley relay), Nathan Mylenek (distance medley relay), and Michael Melchert (distance medley relay). The women have 11 athletes in the top-10 (19 times). Laulauga Tausaga holds the school records in the shot put (16.51m) and weight throws (20.03m). 

NEXT ON THE BLOCK The Hawkeyes host their second of four indoor home meets in January with the Hawkeye Invitational Jan. 11-12. Teams competing include Bradley, Iowa Central CC, Iowa State, Loyola, Northern Iowa, South Dakota, and Wichita State.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content