Recount set for NEIA Senate race

In the House District 55 race, Republican Michael Bergan leads Democrat Kayla Koether by seven votes following the initial canvass of votes.

Winneshiek County Auditor Ben Steines announced on Friday that Koether had filed for a recount.

The three-member board is made up on one person selected by each candidate and a third member mutually agreed on by both candidates.

James Beeghly has been appointed by Koether, James Burns was appointed by Bergan and Craig Cutting was agreed upon by both.

While District 55 is made up of Clayton, Fayette, and Winneshiek counties, the request only requests a recount of votes cast in Clayton and Winneshiek counties.

The recount will be held Tuesday November 27th at 9 a.m and is open to the public. It will be held in the GIS office in the Winneshiek County Courthouse in Decorah. They estimate it will take approximately two days to complete the recount.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content