Golden Herky Nominees Announced

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa Department of Athletics has announced the nominees for the 2018 Golden Herky Awards. The third annual award show -- an exclusive event for Iowa student-athletes and coaches – is held at the Englert Theatre on May 2 at 8 p.m. (CT).

Sixteen of Iowa’s 24 varsity sports are up for a Golden Herky Award. Men’s track and field leads the pack with 10 nominations, while baseball and women’s basketball each have six. Junior Megan Gustafson, freshman Spencer Lee, and former Hawkeye Jake Adams are each up for three individual awards.

Nominations for awards are submitted by each team’s Iowa Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (ISAAC) representatives and are vetted by Iowa Athletics Communications and coaches. The list is narrowed to five in each category by ISAAC representatives. Winners will be voted on by student-athletes and announced May 2.

Members of the media interested in covering the Gold Carpet prior to the event should contact Brandee Britt at

The nominees are listed below.

Outstanding Newcomer

Jake Adams (Baseball)

Bennet Huang (Men’s Gymnastics)

Spencer Lee (Wrestling)

Brie Orr (Volleyball)

Laulauga Tausaga (Women’s Track & Field)

Outstanding Post Season Performance

2017 Baseball – Big Ten Tournament Champions -- World University Games Silver Medalists

Megan Gustafson (Women’s Basketball) – 48 points against Minnesota in the Big Ten Tournament

Spencer Lee (Wrestling) – 2018 National Champion

2017 Men’s Track and Field – 4X400 Relay at the 2017 NCAA Outdoor Championships

Laulauga Tausaga (Women’s Track & Field) – 2017 Big Ten Discus Champion

Male Breakthrough Athlete 

Jake Adams (Baseball)

Chris Dawson (Men’s Swimming & Diving)

Dylan Ellsworth (Men’s Gymnastics)

Collin Hofacker (Men’s Track & Field)

Josh Jackson (Football)

Female Breakthrough Athlete 

Nicole Chow (Women’s Gymnastics)

Kathleen Doyle (Women’s Basketball)

Hunter Koenigsfeld (Rowing)

Karly Stuenkel (Soccer)

Jahisha Thomas (Women’s Track & Field)

Best Upset 

Football – vs. No. 3 Ohio State

Men’s Gymnastics – vs. No. 2 Penn State

Men’s Track & Field – 4X400 upsets LSU and professional athletes

Women’s Basketball – Upsets No. 14 Ohio State

Men’s Track – Distance Medley Wins 2018 Big Ten Indoor Championships

Male Most Outstanding Team 


Men’s Gymnastics

Men’s Tennis

Men’s Track & Field


Female Most Outstanding Team 

Women’s Basketball

Women’s Gymnastics


Women’s Tennis

Women’s Track & Field

Best Play

Jordan Bohannon (Men’s Basketball) – Missing free throw to keep Chris Street’s record intact

Jake Brodarzon (Men’s Gymnastics) – Dismount vs. ASU/Penn State

Josh Jackson (Football) – Interception vs. Ohio State

Spencer Lee (Wrestling) – NCAA Championship Semifinal pin

Men’s Track – 4X400 relay at 2018 Wieczorek Invite

Record Breaking Performance

Jake Adams (Baseball) – Iowa and Big Ten home run record

Megan Gustafson (Women’s Basketball) – Several season/career records

Reno Tuufuli (Men’s Track & Field) – Shot put record

Elise Van Heuvelen and Anastasia Reimchen (Women’s Tennis) – Beating ranked opponents in doubles

Men’s Swimming & Diving – Broke 6-year school record at 400 Freestyle Relay at Big Ten Championships

Best Reaction to a Play 

Baseball – Robert Neustrom Walk-off home run Celebration in 2017 vs. Ohio State

Soccer – Olivia Fiegel’s Goal Celebration vs. Iowa State

Men’s Tennis – Celebration of Josh Silverstein’s win at Dartmouth to win the match on the road

Men’s Track & Field – Distance Medley Celebration after winning the 2018 Big Ten Indoor Title

Wrestling – Terry Brands jumps on Ben Berhow after Spencer Lee’s pin at NCAAs


Kara Park (Student-Athlete Academic Services)

Ashley Renteria (Strength & Conditioning)

Cody Roberts (Strength & Conditioning)

Sasha Schmid (Women’s Tennis Head Coach)

Zach Walrod (Strength & Conditioning)

Male Hawkeye of the Year 

Ben Colin (Men’s Swimming & Diving)

Mar’Yea Harris (Men’s Track & Field)

Josey Jewell (Football)

Jason Kerst (Men’s Tennis)

Michael Melchert (Men’s Track & Field)


Female Hawkeye of the Year 

Zoe Douglas (Women’s Tennis)

Megan Gustafson (Women’s Basketball)

Jess Janota (Volleyball)

Morgan Rafferty (Women’s Swimming & Diving)

Nikki Youd (Women’s Gymnastics)

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content