Hawkeyes Announce Award Winners at Team Banquet

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- University of Iowa women’s basketball student-athletes, staff, and supporters gathered to celebrate the 2017-18 season at the team’s annual banquet at Celebration Farm on April 6. Seven student-athletes took home a total of 10 awards. 


Chase Coley

Senior Chase Coley was presented with the Community Service Award for logging countless hours serving the Iowa City community this year. Coley started all 32 games for the Hawkeyes. The Minneapolis native ranked second on the team in field goal percentage, shooting 51.8 percent from the field. Coley scored in double figures 11 times and scored eight or more points on 20 occasions. She scored 20 or more points three times, including a career-high 24 points on 9-of-11 shooting from the field in Iowa’s win over Penn State.


Kathleen Doyle

Sophomore Kathleen Doyle was named Iowa’s Best Defender. She was also recognized as Iowa’s Assist Leader. The second team All-Big Ten selection finished the season ranked 12th nationally in assists per game (6.6) and 21st in total assists (199). She led the Big Ten with 7.5 assists per game in conference contests. Doyle scored in double figures 17 times and dished out six or more assists on 22 occasions. She registered the first four double-doubles of her career in conference action, including wins over Illinois, No. 12 Ohio State, and Michigan State. Doyle registered single-season highs in points (332), rebounds (112), assists (199), blocks (20), field goals made (116), and 3-pointers made (33).


Megan Gustafson

Junior Megan Gustafson was presented with the Coaches’ Award. The All-American was also recognized as Iowa’s Field Goal Percentage Leader (67 percent) and Best Rebounder (12.8). Gustafson, the Big Ten Player of the Year, averaged 25.7 points, 12.8 rebounds, and shot 67.1 percent from the field in 32 contests this season. The unanimous first team All-Big Ten selection was the NCAA Statistical Champion in points per game, field goal percentage, and field goals made. Gustafson broke single-season school records for points (823), rebounds (411), field goals made (320), field goal percentage (67.1), free throws made (183), free throws attempted (227), and double-doubles (28).


Makenzie Meyer

Sophomore Makenzie Meyer was recognized as the team’s Best Free Throw Percentage Shooter. Meyer shot 91.2 percent from the free throw line this season – the second highest single-season average in program history. The Mason City, Iowa, native scored in double figures 14 times and netted 20 or more points twice. The Academic All-Big Ten honoree registered single-season highs in points (281), assists (111), steals (18), blocks (6), field goals made (89), and 3-pointers made (51).


Carly Mohns

Carly Mohns was presented with the GRIT, Perseverance, Passion, and Purpose Award. The senior battled numerous knee surgeries throughout her career. Mohns played in 30 contests with two starts this season. The Brodhead, Wisconsin, native had her best season as a Hawkeye, registering 54 points, 68 rebounds, 25 assists, nine steals, and five blocks.


Alexis Sevillian

Redshirt freshman Alexis Sevillian was named Most Improved. Sevillian played in 31 games with 23 starts. She led the team in 3-pointers made (59) – the second most by a freshmen in program history. The Academic All-Big Ten honoree scored in double figures 14 times and made three or more 3-pointers in 11 games.  


Hannah Stewart

Junior Hannah Stewart earned the Dr. Christine Grant Leadership Award. The team-voted co-captain played in all 32 contests, scoring in double figures seven times and netting eight or more points in 17 games. The Academic All-Big Ten selection had her best season as a Hawkeye, registering single-season bests in points (235), rebounds (145), assists (46), blocks (24), steals (35), field goals made (106), and free throws made (23). Stewart was also Iowa’s Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree.


Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content