Bohannon, Cook Named Honorable Mention All-Big Ten

IOWA CITY, Iowa – Sophomores Jordan Bohannon (media) and Tyler Cook (media and coaches) were named honorable mention All-Big Ten, the Big Ten Conference announced Monday as part of the postseason awards. Redshirt junior Nicholas Baer was named Iowa men’s basketball Sportsmanship Award recipient for the second consecutive year.


Bohannon, a native of Marion, Iowa, ranks second in the Big Ten in assists per game (5.35) and free throw accuracy (.890), tied for first in 3-pointers made (2.8), eighth in 3-point field goal percentage (.429), and ties for 21st in scoring average (13.2). The guard posted three double-doubles in points and assists this season. His career total of six double-doubles in points and assists are the most in program history. Recently, Bohannon made his 34th consecutive free throw to tie legendary Chris Street’s school record for consecutive makes before purposely missing the potential record breaking 35th free throw in Sunday’s win over Northwestern in Iowa City. Bohannon missed only two free throw attempts in 18 conference games (37-of-39). Bohannon, a Big Ten All-Freshman Team honoree in 2017, is the only Division I player over the last 25 years to amass 150+ assists and 80+ 3-pointers as a freshman and sophomore.


Cook ranks seventh in the Big Ten in double-doubles (7), eighth in field goal percentage (.663), 11th in rebounding (6.9), and 12th in scoring average (15.3). Cook’s scoring and rebounding averages lead the Hawkeyes as a sophomore. His seven double-doubles also lead the team, posting six of the seven double-doubles over the final 13 contests. The St. Louis native tallied 20 points or more a team-best nine times, seven of which came against Big Ten opponents. Cook, a Big Ten All-Freshman Team honoree in 2017, has slammed home a team-best 56 of his 180 field goals made.


Baer earned the team’s Big Ten Sportsmanship Award for the second straight season. The forward averages 5.2 points, five rebounds, 1.8 assists, 0.9 blocked shots, and a team-best one steal per game this season. Baer, who was awarded the 2017 Big Ten Sixth Man of the Year, missed the first six games this season due to an injury, playing in 25 games, including 17 starts.


Both the media and coaches named Ohio State’s Chris Holtmann and Keita Bates-Diop the Coach of the Year and Player of the Year, respectively. The coaches selected Michigan State freshman Jaren Jackson Jr. as Defensive Player of the Year. Both groups also named Jackson as Freshman of the Year.


Iowa (13-18, 4-14) will open play in the Big Ten Tournament on Wednesday against 13th-seeded Illinois (14-17, 4-14). Game time is 4:30 p.m. (CT) at Madison Square Garden in New York City.


Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content