Hawkeyes Sweep Western Illinois in Home Finale

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa swimming and diving team closed out the dual portion of its schedule, sweeping Western Illinois at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center on Friday night.


The Hawkeyes won all 24 events en route to the victory. The Iowa men won, 127-75, while the women finished ahead of Western Illinois, 128-65.



“We had some great performances. We had some exhibitions tonight and were able to have some fun with some of the events. I feel like we are in a great position heading into championship season. It feels good to get the win.”



Jacob Rosenkoetter, Tanner Nelson, Michal Brzus, and Ben Colin touched in first in the 400-medley relay with a time of 3:25.33 to begin things on the men's side.


Sophomore Michael Tenney then touched in first in the 200 free with a time of 1:39.28, Tenney also won the 100 free with a season-best time of 46.05.


Freshman Daniel Swanepoel won the 100 IM (51.56) and 50 breast (26.23). Sophomore Joe Myhre won the 50 free with a time of 20.43, before senior Jerzy Twarowski won the 50 fly with a time of 21.47. 


Junior Kenneth Mende won the 50 back with a time of 22.76, before freshman Tom Schab posted a season-best in the 500 free with a time of 4:41.25 to win the event.


In the diving well, junior Will Brenner won the 1-meter springboard competition with a zone-standard and season-best of 355.35. Freshman Anton Hoherz won the 3-meter with a zone-standard score of 377.00


The Hawkeyes closed out the men’s side with a win in the 200-free relay, the quartet of Brzus, Matt Kamin, Mende, and Jack Smith posted a time of 1:21.03 to solidify the win.



The relay team of Samantha Sauer, Sage Ohlehsehlen, Summer Campbell, and Lauren Leehy won the 400-medley relay to set the pace for the Hawkeyes, touching in at 3:53.16.


Senior Meghan Lavelle won the 200 free with a time of 1:53.61, before Allyssa Fluit, Izzie Bindseil, and Abbey Schneider finished 1-2-3 in the 100 IM. Fluit won the event with a time of 59.84.


Freshman Sarah Schemmel won the 50 free with a time of 24.10. Senior Jo Jekel won the 50 fly with a time of 25.37, before winning the 50 back, touching in at 26.36.


Sauer won the 100 free for the Hawkeyes, touching in at 51.95. Senior Carly O’Brien paced the Hawkeyes in the 500 free, touching in first with a time of 5:01.27.


In the diving well, freshman Jayah Mathews won the 1-meter with a zone-standard score of 284.65, before winning the 3-meter with another zone-standard of 315.60.


Senior Shea Hoyt won the 50 breast with a time of 29.57, before the quartet of Lavelle, Leehy, Tereysa Lehnertz, and O’Brien finished first in the 200-free relay to close out the final dual meet of the season.


UP NEXT The Hawkeye women return to action on Feb. 14, traveling to Columbus, Ohio, for the 2018 Big Ten Championships. The men’s championships take place in Minneapolis from Feb. 21-24.  FOLLOW THE HAWKEYES For an inside look at the Iowa swimming and diving program and access to exclusive coverage, "like" Iowa Swimming and Diving on Facebook and follow @IowaSwimDive on Twitter and @hawkeyeswimdive on Instagram.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content