Iowa Governor expands disaster proclamation due to flooding

DES MOINES, Iowa- Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds is expanding the number of counties covered by a disaster proclamation, due to flooding.

Residents of 36 counties Iowa may qualify for Iowa's Individual Disaster Assistance Grants.

The latest counties to be added include: Adair, Bremer, Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dallas, Dickinson, Emmet, Fayette, Franklin, Fremont, Guthrie, Hardin, Plymouth, and Shelby.

Thursday, Governor Reynolds activated the State Emergency Operations Center and issued a proclamation to allow state resources to be used to respond to and recover from effects of the severe weather, across the entire state. The Individual Assistance Grant Program and the Disaster Case Management Program were also activated for the following counties:

Butler, Cerro Gordo, Clayton, Hancock, Harrison, Humboldt, Ida, Iowa, Kossuth, Mills, Monona, Montgomery, O'Brien, Pottawattamie, Sioux, Webster, Winnebago, WInneshiek, Woodbury, Worth, and Wright.

Residents impacted by recent severe weather are asked to report damage to help local and state officials better understand the extent of damage. The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management will be collecting the data.


Content Goes Here