Overnight stops announced for 2019 RAGBRAI

RAGBRAI officials announced the Iowa cities hosting overnight stops for this year's ride during a route announcement party in Des Moines, Saturday.

The cities, in order, are as follows:

- Council Bluffs
- Atlantic
- Winterset
- Indianola
- Centerville
- Fairfield
- Burlington
- Keokuk

That's a total of 427 miles and 14,735 feet of climb. It is the sixth shortest and eighth flattest route in history. Officials said the route would also be the eighth easiest.

The total route, including its pass-through communities, will be announced later this year.

RAGBRAI 47 takes place from July 21 through 27.

The ride is a seven-day trip, starting near the state's western boundaries and ending near its eastern boundaries. Bikers often take a ceremonial tire dip in each of Iowa's bordering rivers, the Missouri and Mississippi.

According to the official RAGBRAI webpage, the average route is 468 miles. It's never guaranteed to be flat.

Two Des Moines Register columnists started the, at that time, six-day ride in 1973 with a few friends. It has since grown to include more than 20,000 bikers annually and host an economic impact of more than a million dollars at overnight stops.

Click here for more information on how to register and fees.